After over five years of waiting, Square Enix finally gave people a proper look at what exactly Final Fantasy VII’s Remake will entail and boy, is it a doozy.

The first part of the remake will include everything that happens up until Cloud leaves Midgar in the original game, and will “contain so much content” that the game has been separated across two blu-ray discs on PS4. Square Enix claims that even though the game has been separated like this, they have put much more focus and depth into the exploration of Midgar, so it will really feel like it’s a complete stand-alone game.

Unlike the original FF7, this Remake will have fully active combat similar to Final Fantasy XV or Kingdom Hearts, but with a special ATB bar (as a callback to the turn-based game’s roots) that will let you freeze time to do special large-scale attacks. You will also be able to switch characters at will, with each character playing completely differently. Barret for example, attacks from a distance with his gun arm instead of getting up close and personal, and has his own mechanics related to that, and Tifa will do tons of punches and kicks, as she would.

As a big proponent and lover of Cloud Strife, I am all the way about this remake. I especially appreciate Tifa having an outfit that is both practical and cool as hell. Most of the dialogue seemed to be the same too, so hopefully we’ll get iconic scenes like Barret saying that “this whole thing is stupid.”

Final Fantasy 7 Remake’s first part will be launching on March 3rd, 2020, first on PlayStation 4.

About Rose

Rose is the one who gets way too caught up in the sociological ramifications of all those Video Games. She will play literally anything, and especially wants you to play The House in Fata Morgana.

See Rose’s Posts

Related Articles

The Bulletin: Gamescom Goodies

It was Gamescom this week, but we also said goodbye to the most iconic Mario voice actor, and Bioware pulled a rancid move.

Published: Aug 26, 2023


Latest Articles

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.